Parking at NWACC | NorthWest Arkansas Community College

Main Content Start

Parking at NWACC


NWACC is committed to providing quality parking services to students, faculty, staff and visitors. Feel free to use the campus map to find a parking lot located near your destination on campus. Students, faculty and staff are required to have a current hangtag to park on campus. Hangtags are for one academic year – August 1st through July 31st.

Student Parking

Parking hangtags are required to be displayed in all student vehicles and are typically distributed at the Student Information Desk in the Student Center beginning August 1st of each year. Students are required to register their vehicle(s) online through NWACC’s new parking management portal. The vehicle(s) must have a valid license plate before the parking hangtag will be issued and students will need their license plate information for the online registration process.

NOTE: This is a new process beginning July 2024, with a new parking registration and management system. No previously registered information, license plate information and/or hang tag information will carry over to this new system. For more information on the new online parking registration process see “Steps for Vehicle Registration” below.

After completion of registering vehicle(s) online, students must bring a legally issued ID such as a driver’s license or passport to receive a NWACC student ID and pick up their parking hangtag. Students who already have a NWACC student ID must bring it to pick up their new hangtag. Parking hang tags will not be issued to any student without a student ID card.

There are designated student parking areas around most NWACC buildings. Students are required to park in areas marked with white pavement lines, where no other parking indication is listed, such as reserved numbers or areas that say “maintenance”. The parking garage is also designated for students but has a limited number of 24-hour reserved spaces for faculty and staff. Students are NOT allowed to “back in” to parking spaces in the parking garage and may be ticketed for doing so. In addition, 24-hour reserved numbered spaces are available in other surface parking areas but are limited to faculty and staff only.

If a student parks without a hangtag or in areas not designated for students, a parking citation will be issued. Parking fines are listed in the parking policy #9004.

For additional information, contact the Student Information Center located in the Student Center, or NWACC's Department of Police and Public Safety (DPS) at the Center for Health Professions (CHP), room 1042, or inquire in the main lobby at NWACC's Washington County location.

 

Employee Parking

General parking is $5 each fiscal year and will automatically be renewed and payroll deducted on an annual basis. This fee is charged to all employees, regardless of type of employment – no exceptions.

Employees are required to register their vehicle(s) online through NWACC’s new parking management portal. The vehicle(s) must have a valid license plate before the parking hangtag will be issued and employees will need this information for the online registration process.

NOTE: This is a new process beginning July 2024 with a new parking registration and management system. No previously registered information, license plate information or hang tag information will carry over to this new system. For more information on the new online parking registration process see “Steps for Vehicle Registration” below.

After the vehicle(s) have been registered through the online portal, employees must bring their NWACC Employee ID card to pick up their parking hangtag at the Department of Police & Public Safety office in Burns Hall, the Center for Health Professions (Room 1042), or Washington County locations.

All employees are required to have a NWACC Employee ID card, which can be obtained at the Student Information Center in the Becky Paneitz Student Center or in the lobby at NWACC Washington County. To receive an ID card, employees must bring proof of employment from HR or a current paystub and a legally issued photo ID.

Reserved parking is also an option for employees. Payment is made through payroll deduction, assessed on a per-pay period basis. Renewal for reserved parking is automatic unless an employee chooses to opt out by notifying the payroll department. Part-time employees must pay cash for reserved numbered parking spaces.

  •  NOTE: Employees who wish to purchase or renew a reserved parking pass will be required to make that request in Workday. After the request has been made through Workday, the employee's hangtag for a numbered reserved space will be available from DPS at the CHP office, Room 1042. View the Workday training guide for next steps. This is in ADDITION to the mandatory registration through the new parking management portal.

Payment Options for Parking Hangtags

  • General Surface Lots: $5.00 (all employees; auto deducted annually)
  • Reserved:
    • Burns Hall East Lot: $245.00
    • Burns Hall West Lot: $245.00
    • Center for Health Professions: $245.00
    • Student Center West Lot: $245.00
    • GBDC West Lot: $245.00
    • Parking Deck Level 1 or Level 2: $275.00

Parking Hangtag Renewals

All employees must have a current NWACC-issued hangtag for each upcoming academic year, no later than August 15th. Please follow these instructions listed above to receive your new hangtag.

  • General surface faculty/staff parking: Once you complete registering your vehicle(s) through the new online portal, please bring your current NWACC ID card and previous year’s hangtag to the DPS window in Burns Hall or the Center for Health Professions, room 1042, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm to receive a new hangtag.
  • Reserved faculty/staff parking: Full-time employees who wish to purchase or renew a reserved parking pass will be required to make that request in Workday, in addition to the steps listed above. View the Workday training guide for next steps.
  • Part-time faculty with reserved parking: Part-time employees are not eligible for payroll deductions for parking fees. Once your online registration is complete, please go to the Cashier’s Office after August 1st and pay the fee. Bring the cash receipt along with your current NWACC ID card and previous hangtag to the DPS window in CHP, room 1042, to receive a new hangtag.
  • If you do not have a current NWACC ID (with a barcode), please go to the Student Center Information Desk. Hangtags will not be issued without your ID card. Employees must present proof of employment from HR or a current paystub (can be printed through Workday) as well as a legally issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license or passport in order to obtain an NWACC ID card.

ALL faculty and staff MUST have a current hangtag by August 20th, regardless of where you park. Anyone parking without a hangtag will be issued a citation. Parking fines are listed in the parking policy.

For questions, please contact DPS in CHP, room1042, or call 479-619-4229.

Emeritus & Board of Trustees Parking

Emeritus and NWACC Board of Trustee members receive a complimentary parking hangtag. An NWACC ID must be presented to receive a parking hangtag. The hangtag must be displayed on any vehicle parked on campus. Loss of hangtag must be verified by the Department of Police and Public Safety (DPS) and will be replaced for a fee.

Non-NWACC Student Parking

Non-NWACC student parking is available for those who are not students or employees but have a need to park on campus for more than one day unless they are an approved vendor or contractor.

Non-NWACC students will be assessed a $26 parking hangtag fee which will be valid for a semester. Hangtag must be paid for at NWACC's Treasurer's Office and picked up at the Department of Police and Public Safety (DPS). The hangtag must be displayed on any vehicle parked on campus. Loss of hangtag must be verified by the DPS and will be replaced for a fee.

Visitor Parking

Visitor parking is available for those guests who are not a student, employee or approved vendor/contractor, and have temporary business on campus. Visitor parking is located near the entrance of each of the NWACC buildings.

If you plan to park for more than four hours, visitors must stop by the Department of Police and Public Safety (DPS) in the Center for Health Professions, room 1042, or in the main lobby entrance at NWACC's Washington County location to obtain a visitor hangtag.

 

NWACC Washington County Parking

All vehicles parked at Washington County (WC) are required to display a current parking hangtag. Failure to comply may result in the issuance of a citation, immobilization and/or towing of the vehicle.

Overflow parking is available at Arvest Ballpark but must only be used in connection with the operation of WC when the capacity of the lot has been reached. Any overflow vehicles parked in the Arvest Ballpark lot must vacate the lot by 5pm. Any parking after 5pm must be in the designated WC lot.

During events at Arvest Ballpark, the entrance to the WC lot on Watkins Avenue will be temporarily closed. Any member of the college with a valid parking hangtag, who must access the WC for college-related operations during an event must enter through Gate 1. A current NWACC parking hangtag will be required to enter/exit the lot with no charges applied. If a hangtag is not displayed, one may incur event parking fees.

An NWACC parking hangtag is not to be used for Arvest Ballpark event parking. Failure to comply may result in the issuance of a citation, referral to the Office of Community Standards, or referral to Human Resources for disciplinary action.

 

Steps for Vehicle Registration:

1. Gather the license plate number from your vehicle. Each person may register up to two (2) vehicles. 2. Go to www.nwacc.edu – and using the “Login” drop-down arrow, navigate to: “My NWACC”.

3. Login using your NWACC user ID and password (same as your email account).

4. Once logged in, you will see the box below in the middle of the MY NWACC screen.

5. You can click the “How to Register Your Vehicle Guide” link for an instructional PDF guide.

6. The “Register Your Vehicle Now” link will take you to the main NWACC Parking Registration page. On that page click “NWACC Log In”. This should automatically open the NWACC Parking registration page, where you upload your personal information (“Edit Profile”) and license plate number (“Edit/Add Vehicles”) for each vehicle you are registering.

Parking Information